Trader Joe’s 70% Dark Chocolate Coconut Caramel

I love that this line of TJ’s chocolate is all 70% or more. Lately I’ve been striving to get chocolate with a cocoa percentage of 70% or more because I’ve been cutting back on my sugar and after 68%, a very good amount of that bar is cocoa as opposed to sugar. Plus, you get more of the actual benefits of cocoa if more of the bar is cocoa anyways!

TJ's Chocolate Coconut Caramel

Ingredients

Taste: A

The chocolate itself was smooth, but a significant portion of the bar was caramel and coconut! That definitely defeated the purpose of my 70% cocoa goal, but that does not mean I didn’t enjoy it! The dark, richness of the chocolate melded deliciously with the creamy, slightly salted caramel and coconut flakes. The coconut flakes add texture and an ever so slight crunch. I would recommend this bar to someone who occasionally dabbles in dark chocolate (because the bitterness of the cocoa is offset by the caramel and coconut, so it is easier for someone whose palate is used to a milkier fare) and anyone who loves caramel!

Caramel-y blocks

Yum

The coconut caramel filling was very melt-y, so make sure you are close by a napkin or wet wipes. You can’t tell by the picture because I had it in the freezer, but take my word for it!

Presentation: B 

Plain foil wrap sorta takes away from the quirky, cute box.

(*Note: My take on presentation is solely for sh*ts and giggles. Like it even matters when you finish the thing in 3 minutes anyways?)

Foil Wrapped

 Price: A

At $1.99 for a 3oz. delicious bar, you can’t beat that.

Get yourself to a Trader Joe’s ASAP!

Reader Feedback: Have you ever had Trader Joe’s 70% Dark Chocolate Coconut Caramel? If so, tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

